{
  "page": "https://wealthtech.dev/guides/mcp-for-advisor-tech",
  "title": "MCP servers in advisor technology",
  "description": "Eleven MCP servers and connectors on record in wealth technology: which are live or announced, what each can read and write, who enables it, and what to check first.",
  "updated": "2026-10-17",
  "data": {
    "title": "MCP servers in advisor technology",
    "url": "https://wealthtech.dev/guides/mcp-for-advisor-tech",
    "description": "Eleven MCP servers and connectors on record in wealth technology: which are live or announced, what each can read and write, who enables it, and what to check first.",
    "summary": "As of October 2026 we have records for eleven MCP servers and connectors in wealth technology, eight live and three announced only. Their authentication, read and write scope, and who has to turn them on differ, and several of those facts are not stated on any public page.",
    "updated": "2026-10-17",
    "kind": "guide",
    "markdown": "# MCP servers in advisor technology\n\n> As of October 2026 we have records for eleven MCP servers and connectors in wealth technology, eight live and three announced only. Their authentication, read and write scope, and who has to turn them on differ, and several of those facts are not stated on any public page.\n\nUpdated: 2026-10-17\n\n## What MCP is\r\n\r\nMCP, the Model Context Protocol, is an open protocol that lets an AI assistant call tools and read data that a server exposes. An assistant (the client) connects to a server at a URL, asks which tools it offers, and calls them on a user's behalf. A tool can be read-only, such as fetching a contact, or it can change data, such as creating a note. Which one it is depends on the server, not on the protocol.\r\n\r\nThat distinction is why this guide exists. In advisor technology, the server often sits in front of client records, portfolio data or planning files. What the server lets an assistant do, and who has to approve it, are facts worth checking before you connect one.\r\n\r\nEvery fact below comes from a record saved on 2026-10-17 (checked October 2026). The [agents page](/agents) explains how we mark a fact as checked on the vendor's page, taken from a third-party page, or not found. The full list is at [/mcp](/mcp).\r\n\r\n## Live and announced are different things\r\n\r\nWe use two statuses:\r\n\r\n- **Live:** a public page shows a server with an endpoint, a registry entry, or a directory listing with tools.\r\n- **Announced:** a vendor or a partner named the connection, and we found no public endpoint, tool list or listing for it. The label records what we could find. It does not mean the connection cannot be set up: Anthropic's post and Conquest's page both describe a setup route, and we have not seen either.\r\n\r\nFour live records rest mainly on a Claude connector listing, which is a third-party page (Addepar, Black Diamond, Orion, Wealthbox). A listing shows what the directory says, not what the vendor's own docs say. Where a vendor's page and a listing disagree, the record notes it and keeps the vendor's page.\r\n\r\n## The servers on record\r\n\r\n| Server | Status | Kind | Endpoint on record | Tools | Scope |\r\n|---|---|---|---|---|---|\r\n| [Addepar MCP](/mcp/addepar-mcp) | Live | Remote MCP | mcp.addepar.com | 15 | Not stated |\r\n| [Black Diamond connector](/mcp/black-diamond-mcp) | Live | Remote MCP | bd3.bdreporting.com/mcp | 6 | Read-write |\r\n| [Milemarker MCP Server](/mcp/milemarker-mcp) | Live | Remote MCP | mcp.milemarker.co/mcp | Not found | Read and write actions |\r\n| [Morningstar MCP Server](/mcp/morningstar-mcp) | Live | Remote MCP | mcp.morningstar.com/mcp | 7 | Not stated |\r\n| [Orion Connector (Denali Gateway)](/mcp/orion-denali) | Live | Remote MCP | gateway.oriondenali.ai/mcp | 19 | Read-write |\r\n| [Wealthbox connector](/mcp/wealthbox-mcp) | Live | Remote MCP | mcp.crmworkspace.com/mcp | 67 | Read-write |\r\n| [Mastercard Developers Agent Toolkit](/mcp/finicity-agent-toolkit) | Live | Developer tooling | developer.mcp.mastercard.com | Not found | Docs and specs |\r\n| [Plaid Dashboard MCP server](/mcp/plaid-dashboard-mcp) | Live | Developer tooling | api.dashboard.plaid.com/mcp/ | 5 | Diagnostics only |\r\n| [Conquest MCP Server](/mcp/conquest-mcp) | Announced | Remote MCP | None published | Not found | Read-write |\r\n| [Envestnet connector](/mcp/envestnet-connector) | Announced | Vendor connector | None found | Not found | Not stated |\r\n| [Schwab connector](/mcp/schwab-connector) | Announced | Vendor connector | None found | Not found | Account data (no read/write label) |\r\n\r\nThree kinds appear in the records:\r\n\r\n- **Remote MCP:** a server at a URL that an assistant connects to.\r\n- **Vendor connector:** a connection a vendor has announced without saying it is MCP-based. Envestnet's page does not state it. Schwab's own release does not call it MCP.\r\n- **Developer tooling:** a server that, per its vendor, serves documentation or account diagnostics to coding tools.\r\n\r\n## Live servers\r\n\r\n### Portfolio and reporting platforms\r\n\r\n**Addepar** ([product](/products/addepar)). The listing shows 15 tools, all named `get_*` or `search_*`, covering portfolio data, transactions, ownership, performance attribution and private fund activity. The listing states no scope label, so we record none. Users \"authenticate with your Addepar account,\" with no API keys, and the listing says \"Permission aware access helps limit the information retrieved to what each user is authorized to see.\" Who enables it, the transport and any price are not stated.\r\n\r\n**Black Diamond** ([product](/products/black-diamond)). Six tools are shown. Two are generic: `blackdiamond_ask_data_warehouse` and `blackdiamond_invoke_tool`, so the six names do not list every action the connector can perform. The listing text says it can \"launch rebalance sessions, and run client reports on demand,\" which is why scope is read-write. Sign-in is required and the method is not stated. We found no vendor page for the connector: sscinc.com returned 403 to automated reading, guessed sscblackdiamond.com pages returned 404, and the developer site failed to load, so a page may exist that we could not read.\r\n\r\n**Orion** ([product](/products/orion)) **and Redtail** ([product](/products/redtail)). One connector covers both. Of the 19 tools shown, nine start `orion_connect_` and ten start `redtail_`. Three Redtail tools create data: `redtail_add_activity`, `redtail_add_opportunity` and `redtail_create_note`. Orion's page says the connector \"operates using each user's existing Orion Connect and Redtail permissions and does not create additional access to data.\" It is not on by default: a firm's designated technical administrator enables it in the Orion Denali Gateway Portal. The pricing FAQ on Orion's page was collapsed in the capture, so we state no price.\r\n\r\n**Milemarker** ([product](/products/milemarker)). The official MCP registry lists the server over Streamable HTTP. Authentication is a bearer token that is a tenant-scoped API key, which the registry says comes from Milemarker platform settings or the implementation team. Milemarker's page describes actions such as \"Query data, deploy dashboards, build workflows, manage users.\" Access is requested from Milemarker through a Request Access button. No tool list or count was found.\r\n\r\n**Morningstar** ([product](/products/morningstar)). Morningstar's developer page lists seven tools, all read: analyst research, articles, data, fund holdings, ID lookup, portfolio analysis and screener. The Claude listing shows six, so the vendor page is the record. Transport is Streamable HTTP. Programmatic clients send a bearer token from Morningstar's Authentication API, and users sign in with Morningstar credentials in apps. A licensed Morningstar account is required, and Morningstar's page says a Claude for Enterprise administrator can add it as a custom connector. Morningstar says to contact an account representative about licensing, with no price given.\r\n\r\n**Wealthbox** ([product](/products/wealthbox)). The listing says \"Show all 67 tools\" but displays 24: 12 create or add tools and 12 get tools. The other 43 are not recorded. Sign-in is required and the protocol is not stated. Who enables it in a Wealthbox workspace and any price are not stated, and no Wealthbox-owned page about the connector was captured.\r\n\r\n### Developer tooling\r\n\r\nThese two are described by their vendors as serving developers.\r\n\r\n**Mastercard Developers Agent Toolkit.** Mastercard describes it as exposing Mastercard Developers product docs, API specs and guides as tools, including the Open Finance US (Finicity) docs, to coding assistants. There is a hosted remote option and a local stdio option. The toolkit is free, and setup is self-serve: add the server URL in an MCP client or run the npm package. No page states an authentication requirement either way.\r\n\r\n**Plaid Dashboard MCP server.** Five tools cover debugging Items, Link conversion analytics and usage. It uses Streamable HTTP with an OAuth token that has the `mcp:dashboard` scope from the `client_credentials` grant, sent as a bearer token. Tokens expire after 15 minutes. Your team must be approved for Production access with at least one Plaid product, and only Production data is served. Plaid states the server \"is under active development,\" that breaking changes may occur, and that support is limited. The Claude listing shows a different URL ending `/sse` and four tools; Plaid's docs page is the record.\r\n\r\n## No public endpoint found\r\n\r\nThese three are marked \"announced\" because we found no public endpoint, tool list or listing for them.\r\n\r\n**Conquest Planning** ([product](/products/conquest-planning)). Conquest's own page says advisors can retrieve live plan data and manage strategies on a plan, \"including reviewing, applying, modifying and removing them.\" It names Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot as compatible. Every connection is authenticated, and a firm opts in at firm level or for specific users. Per its page, \"The MCP Server is available to configure for eligible firms,\" and turning it on involves a short setup and an agreement with the Conquest team. No public endpoint, tool list, auth protocol or price is published, and Claude directory pages we guessed returned 404.\r\n\r\n**Envestnet** ([MoneyGuide](/products/moneyguide), [Tamarac](/products/envestnet-tamarac)). Anthropic's September 14, 2026 post says the connector lets advisors summarize Tamarac accounts and households, with a MoneyGuide plan snapshot. Anthropic's post also says the Claude for Financial Advisors plugin works with Envestnet and that \"advisors choose which of these to connect during guided setup.\" We found no public endpoint, tool list, scope, auth or price, and no source says it is MCP-based.\r\n\r\n**Schwab** ([product](/products/schwab-advisor-services)). Schwab's September 14, 2026 release says RIAs will access Schwab Advisor Center from Claude \"through an authenticated connection.\" Anthropic's post lists the data covered: balances, positions, transactions, cost basis, alerts and money-movement status. Anthropic's post lists Charles Schwab among the partners the plugin works with and says \"advisors choose which of these to connect during guided setup.\" No public endpoint, read/write label or price was found.\r\n\r\n## Security facts to check before connecting an assistant to client data\r\n\r\nThese come from the gaps and details in the records above. They are checks, not endorsements of any server.\r\n\r\n1. **Read or write.** Three live servers show tools that create or change data: Orion/Redtail, Wealthbox, and Milemarker's described actions. Black Diamond's listing says the connector can \"launch rebalance sessions\"; its six tool names are four read tools and two of unknown scope. Addepar and Morningstar show only read tools, but neither states a scope label. Check the tool list for names that create, add, launch or manage.\r\n2. **Generic tools hide the real scope.** Black Diamond's `invoke_tool` and `ask_data_warehouse` are generic, so the tool list alone does not show what can run.\r\n3. **Whose permissions apply.** Orion says the connector uses each user's existing permissions. Addepar's listing says \"Permission aware access helps limit the information retrieved to what each user is authorized to see.\" Milemarker's registry entry describes a tenant-scoped key, and how that maps to individual users is not stated. For most others, nothing public says.\r\n4. **How authentication works.** The records show account sign-in (Addepar), \"sign-in required\" with no method (Black Diamond, Wealthbox, Orion's listing), bearer tokens (Milemarker, Morningstar programmatic clients) and OAuth `client_credentials` with 15-minute tokens (Plaid). Black Diamond, Wealthbox, Conquest and Schwab say the protocol is not stated.\r\n5. **Who turns it on.** Orion: a technical administrator. Morningstar: a licensed account plus a Claude for Enterprise administrator. Milemarker: a request to Milemarker. Conquest: an agreement with Conquest. Addepar, Black Diamond and Wealthbox: not stated. Envestnet and Schwab: Anthropic's post says advisors choose which partners to connect during the plugin's guided setup; any firm-level approval is not stated.\r\n6. **Listing versus vendor.** Four live records rest on a directory listing (Addepar, Black Diamond, Orion's endpoint, Wealthbox). Listings can differ from vendor docs, as with Morningstar (6 versus 7 tools) and Plaid (4 versus 5 tools, different URL).\r\n7. **Maturity.** Plaid says its server is under active development with limited support.\r\n8. **Data scope.** The two developer-tooling servers serve documentation and diagnostics. Do not assume any server is limited to non-client data without reading its tool list.\r\n\r\n## Where to go next\r\n\r\nFor a Claude-specific walkthrough, see [Connecting Claude to advisor tools](/guides/connect-claude-to-advisor-tools). For CRM APIs behind some of these servers, see [Getting API access to advisor CRMs](/guides/getting-api-access-advisor-crms). The full agent view is at [/agents](/agents).\n\n---\nSource: https://wealthtech.dev/guides/mcp-for-advisor-tech · CC BY 4.0\n"
  }
}